Alexander M & Catherine M Wright Charitable EIN 04-6974050

Alexander M & Catherine M Wright Charitable FY2022 filing

EIN  04-6974050 Private foundation / grantmaker Hartford, CT
Form 990 (PDF)
You’re viewing the FY2022 filing — not the latest on file. See the latest (FY2025) →
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Alexander M & Catherine M Wright Charitable claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Hartford, CT. It reported about $51K in revenue for 2022.
Money in and out
$51K revenue, $59K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Hartford, CT. It reported about $51K in revenue for 2022. For fiscal year 2022 it reported $51K in revenue, $59K in expenses, and $638K in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2022
Total revenue
$51K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$59K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$638K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$8K
Total assets
638K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
44K
in FY2022
Grants made
14grants
total in period
Payout rate
7%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 14 grants · $56K · 2025–2025
Mt Holyoke CollegeFY2025$14,000
The Hartford SymphonyFY2025$12,000
United Way of Greater HartfordFY2025$5,000
Greater Hartford Arts CouncilFY2025$5,000
YMCA of Greater HartfordFY2025$3,000
Wadsworth Antheneum Museum of ArtFY2025$3,000
The Salvation ArmyFY2025$3,000
Hartford HospitalFY2025$3,000
Wmnr Fine Arts RadioFY2025$2,000
Hartford Foundation for Public GivingFY2025$2,000
Hartford StageFY2025$1,000
Foundation for West Hartford PublicFY2025$1,000
Ct National Guard Foundation INCFY2025$1,000
Charter Oak Chapter American Red CrossFY2025$1,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$4K
Median grantPart XV$3K
Largest grantPart XV$14K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2022 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$51K
FY2022▲ +4%
Expenses
$59K
FY2022▲ +2%
Total assets
$638K
FY2022▼ -1%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2022
Total revenue
$51K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$59K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$638K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$638K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CAlexander M & Catherine M Wright Charitable
EINHdr · item D04-6974050
Principal addressHdr · item CHartford, CT
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCT
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJun 2002

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Officers, directors & key employeesPt VII · Sec ANot reported
See Alexander M & Catherine M Wright Charitable executive salaries →

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$51K
Other revenue$105
Total revenueLn 12$51K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.74 Operating & administrative $0.26
Grants & contributions paid74%$44K
Operating & administrative26%$15K
Total functional expensesLn 25$59K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$58K
Total assetsLn 16$638K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$638K
Months of cash on handcomputed11.7

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2022 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $638K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $51K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $51K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $51K · Prior year $49K
+4%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $638K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $51K · Expenses $59K
-16%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $638K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $638K · Total assets $638K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual — · Reported title — · Highest reported compensation — · Total expenses $59K
No individual compensation reported on this filing
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 4%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$51K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$41K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$32K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$51K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$49K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$56K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2022IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.

Pay it forward
Keep 990 Scout free for the next person.

Better charities, better world. There is no paywall here and nothing to unlock: what you pay covers the next person's lookup.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.