Dorothea Tuney Foundation C/O Tanya Tafolla EIN 33-6277186 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Dorothea Tuney Foundation C/O Tanya Tafolla

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in San Diego, CA. It reported about $84K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $84K in revenue, $117K in expenses, and $296K in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
San Diego, CA
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Revenue
$84KFY2025
Expenses
$117K
Net assets
$296K
People
1
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  33-6277186 Private foundation / grantmaker San Diego, CA
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Dorothea Tuney Foundation C/O Tanya Tafolla claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in San Diego, CA. It reported about $84K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Tanya Tafolla · Trustee · $78K
Money in and out
$84K revenue, $117K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$84K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$117K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$296K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$33K
Total assets
296K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
24K
in FY2025
Grants made
32grants
total in period
Payout rate
8%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 32 grants · $24K · 2025–2025
YMCA of San DiegoFY2025$4,061
Tony Jannus Distinguished Aviation Society INCFY2025$3,601
Stone Ranch Elementary FoundationFY2025$3,220
Yosemite ConservancyFY2025$2,230
Hawaii Food and Wine FestivalFY2025$1,646
The Well Community ChurchFY2025$1,000
Chula Vista Police FoundationFY2025$955
Volunteers of Burbank Animal ShelterFY2025$935
The Playwrights Realm INCFY2025$800
T Claude & Gladys B Ryan Family YMCAFY2025$680
Make-A-Wish San DiegoFY2025$528
Yonkers Partners in EducationFY2025$525
The Next SwellFY2025$500
Sunset View ElementaryFY2025$500
Hockey Is LifeFY2025$500
Rio Vista Elementary PTAFY2025$470
Pointer AssociationFY2025$395
Harvest Christian ChurchFY2025$357
See all 32 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$764
Median grantPart XV$470
Largest grantPart XV$4K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$84K
FY2025▲ +6%
Expenses
$117K
FY2025▼ -18%
Total assets
$296K
FY2025▼ -10%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total assetsPt II$296K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CDorothea Tuney Foundation C/O Tanya Tafolla
EINHdr · item D33-6277186
Principal addressHdr · item CSan Diego, CA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MCA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T22)
Ruling yearIRS BMFJul 2000

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
$78,051Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 1 named individual · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024
Tanya Tafolla$78,051$86,017

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Dorothea Tuney Foundation C/O Tanya Tafolla executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income100%$84K
Total revenueLn 12$84K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.21 Operating & administrative $0.79
Grants & contributions paid21%$24K
Operating & administrative79%$92K
Total functional expensesLn 25$117K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$7K
Total assetsLn 16$296K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$296K
Months of cash on handcomputed0.8

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $296K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $84K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $84K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $84K · Prior year $79K
+6%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $79K · FY2025 $84K
+1%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $296K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $84K · Expenses $117K
-39%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $296K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $296K · Total assets $296K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Tanya Tafolla · Reported title TRUSTEE · Highest reported compensation $78K · Total expenses $117K
67%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 6%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$84K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$79K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$65K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$53K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$113K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$79K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

Keep this kind of thing free
Keep public charity data easy to read.

Free to the public, because obviously. Like this? Pay it forward. Don't like this? Help us get better.

Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay through Stripe. One time.

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.