Adtalem Global Education Foundation EIN 27-2860061

Adtalem Global Education Foundation

EIN  27-2860061 Private foundation / grantmaker Chicago, IL
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Adtalem Global Education Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Chicago, IL. It reported about $600K in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Leah Meizoso · Director
Money in and out
$600K revenue, $632K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Chicago, IL. It reported about $600K in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $600K in revenue, $632K in expenses, and $370K in net assets.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$600K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$632K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$370K
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$32K
Total assets
370K
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
632K
in FY2025
Grants made
15grants
total in period
Payout rate
171%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 15 grants · $632K · 2024–2024
A Better ChicagoIL · FY2024$100,000
Committee for Economic Development of the Conference Board (ced)FY2024$72,500
American Humane AssociationDC · FY2024$60,000
American Cancer SocietyFY2024$60,000
Global Health Corps INCNY · FY2024$50,000
Cures Within ReachFY2024$50,000
Mission Animal HospitalMN · FY2024$45,000
The Headstrong ProjectFY2024$30,000
American Academy of PediatricsFY2024$30,000
Every Mother CountsNY · FY2024$25,000
Children First Fund the Chicago Public Schools FoundationFY2024$25,000
After School Matters INCIL · FY2024$25,000
The Dysautonomia Project INCFL · FY2024$20,000
American Red CrossFY2024$20,000
American Academy of Hospice and Pallative Medicine (aahpm)FY2024$20,000

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV7
Average grantPart XV$42K
Median grantPart XV$30K
Largest grantPart XV$100K
Top cause focusNTEEHealth Care (20%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Total revenue
$600K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$632K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$370K
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$370K

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CAdtalem Global Education Foundation
EINHdr · item D27-2860061
Principal addressHdr · item CChicago, IL
WebsiteHdr · item Jwww.adtalemfoundation.org
State of legal domicileHdr · item MIL
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFMay 2024

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2024); the FY2025 filing did not itemize Part VII
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director (start 02/25)
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director (start 02/25)
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director (start 02/25)
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director (start 02/25)
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director (end 12/24)
$0Pt VII · Sec A
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Adtalem Global Education Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Contributions & grants100%$600K
Total revenueLn 12$600K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $1.00
Grants & contributions paid100%$632K
Total functional expensesLn 25$632K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$370K
Total assetsLn 16$370K
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$370K
Months of cash on handcomputed7.0

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $370K
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $600K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $600K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $600K · Prior year —
No prior year on file
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $370K · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $600K · Expenses $632K
-5%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $370K
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $370K · Total assets $370K
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Leah Meizoso · Reported title DIRECTOR · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $632K
0%
Personnel share
not reported

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown. Peer cohort: .

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$600K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.