Double Eagle Foundation EIN 25-6875219 Form 990 (PDF) Claim this org

Double Eagle Foundation

Not yet claimed Claim this org →

A private foundation based in Philadelphia, PA. It reported about $825K in revenue for 2024. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $825K in revenue, $616K in expenses, and $6.2M in net assets.Pt I

Type
Private foundation / grantmaker · Foundations & Grantmakers
Location
Philadelphia, PA
Filings
6 on file (2020–2025)
Revenue
$825KFY2025
Expenses
$616K
Net assets
$6.2M
People
2
Filings
6
Updates
0
More identity details & actions ⌄
EIN  25-6875219 Private foundation / grantmaker Philadelphia, PA
Form 990 (PDF)
Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Double Eagle Foundation claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
$100K–1M
What they do
A private foundation based in Philadelphia, PA. It reported about $825K in revenue for 2024.
Leadership
Money in and out
$825K revenue, $616K expenses
Bottom line
Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$825K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$616K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$6.2M
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): $210K
Total assets
6.2M
deployed as grants and operations
Grants paid
568K
in FY2025
Grants made
90grants
total in period
Payout rate
9%
of assets (5% rule)

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 90 grants · $568K · 2024–2024
The Holton Arms SchoolMD · FY2024$72,500
Shady Side AcademyPA · FY2024$55,000
Converse CollegeFY2024$40,000
Church of the Good ShepherdFY2024$35,000
The Neighborhood AcademyFY2024$26,000
Carnegie Science Center CarnegieFY2024$25,000
Pittsburgh PromiseFY2024$25,000
Carnegie Museums of PittsburghFY2024$25,000
Village Green INCCO · FY2024$21,000
Wooster School CorporationCT · FY2024$20,000
Planned Parenthood of WpaFY2024$13,637
Allegheny Rivertrail ParkFY2024$11,000
The Ellis SchoolPA · FY2024$11,000
The Frick PittsburghFY2024$10,500
Cooper-Siegel Community LibraryFY2024$10,300
See all 90 grants →

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Distinct granteesPart XV43
Average grantPart XV$6K
Median grantPart XV$1K
Largest grantPart XV$72K
Top cause focusNTEEEducation (12%)

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$825K
FY2025▲ +118%
Expenses
$616K
FY2025▲ +2%
Total assets
$6.2M
FY2025▲ +3%
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$825K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$616K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$6.2M
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II$6.2M

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CDouble Eagle Foundation
EINHdr · item D25-6875219
Principal addressHdr · item CPhiladelphia, PA
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MPA
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFFoundations & Grantmakers (T20)
Ruling yearIRS BMFDec 2005

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation · most recent filed roster (FY2024); the FY2025 filing did not itemize Part VII
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Secretary/Treasurer
$0Pt VII · Sec A
See Double Eagle Foundation executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$783K · 95%
Other revenue$42K · 5%
Investment income95%$783K
Other revenue5%$42K
Total revenueLn 12$825K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.92 Operating & administrative $0.08
Grants & contributions paid92%$568K
Operating & administrative8%$48K
Total functional expensesLn 25$616K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1$128K
Total assetsLn 16$6.2M
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$6.2M
Months of cash on handcomputed2.5

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets $6.2M
0%
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $825K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $825K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $825K · Prior year $379K
+118%
Revenue CAGR
FY2019 $389K · FY2024 $825K
+16%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $6.2M · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $825K · Expenses $616K
+25%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets $6.2M
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $6.2M · Total assets $6.2M
100%
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Raymond John Wean III · Reported title CHAIRMAN · Highest reported compensation $0 · Total expenses $616K
0%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth 118%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$825K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$379K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$515K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$868K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$268K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$389K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.