Rural Futures Fund EIN 20-8797462

Rural Futures Fund

EIN  20-8797462 Private foundation / grantmaker Yarmouth, ME
Form 990 (PDF) Compare with another nonprofit →
Is this your organization?
Claim this profile to manage it and share your story.
Claim
Provided by the organization

This section is blank until Rural Futures Fund claims this page.

Know this organization? Claim it to add your story

Size
<$100K
What they do
A private foundation based in Yarmouth, ME. It reported about $26K in revenue for 2025.
Leadership
Erin M Cinelli · Associate Director and Secretary · $100K
Money in and out
$26K revenue, $783K expenses
Bottom line

A private foundation based in Yarmouth, ME. It reported about $26K in revenue for 2025. For fiscal year 2025 it reported $26K in revenue, $783K in expenses.Pt I

Grants paid & assets · FY2025
Total revenue
$26K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$783K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$0
Pt X · Ln 32
Revenue less expenses (Pt I · Ln 19): −$757K
Grants paid
321K
in FY2025
Grants made
3grants
total in period

Who They Fund

Part XV · grants paid · 3 grants · $321K · 2025–2025
Rural Youth InstituteFY2025$310,666
University of MaineFY2025$10,000
Maine Philanthropy CenterFY2025$328

Grantmaking Profile

Patterns in foundation giving
Average grantPart XV$107K
Median grantPart XV$10K
Largest grantPart XV$311K

Summary of the Filing

Part I · fiscal year 2025 · Form 990-PF
Revenue
$26K
FY2025▼ -61%
Expenses
$783K
FY2025▲ +27%
Total assets
FY2025
Total liabilities
$0
FY2025
Total revenue
$26K
Pt VIII · Ln 12
Total expenses
$783K
Pt IX · Ln 25
Net assets
$0
Pt X · Ln 32
Total assetsPt II

Identity & Classification

Form 990 Header · IRS Business Master File
Legal nameHdr · item CRural Futures Fund
EINHdr · item D20-8797462
Principal addressHdr · item CYarmouth, ME
WebsiteHdr · item Jnone reported
State of legal domicileHdr · item MME
Exempt statusHdr · item I501(c)(3) · active
NTEE classificationIRS BMFNonprofit
Ruling yearIRS BMFpending

Governance & Policies

Part VI
Voting members of the governing bodyPt VI · Ln 1apending
Independent voting membersPt VI · Ln 1bpending
Conflict-of-interest policyPt VI · Ln 12a
Whistleblower policyPt VI · Ln 13
Document retention policyPt VI · Ln 14
CEO/top-official compensation independently reviewedPt VI · Ln 15a
Family or business relationships among officers/directorsPt VI · Ln 2

Officers, Directors & Key Employees

Part VII, Section A · reportable compensation
Associate Director and Secretary
$99,637Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
Director
$0Pt VII · Sec A
President
$0Pt VII · Sec A
$0Pt VII · Sec A

Compensation history total reportable pay by year · 1 named individual · Part VII

NameFY2025FY2024
Erin M Cinelli$99,637$89,173

Total reportable compensation (Form 990 Part VII column D / Schedule J column E) by filing year, matched by name within this organization. The Schedule J base / bonus / deferred breakdown is not parsed into this dataset.

See Rural Futures Fund executive salaries →

Are you one of these people? Claim this org to confirm your role

Statement of Revenue

Part VIII
Investment income$15K · 59%
Other revenue$11K · 41%
Investment income59%$15K
Other revenue41%$11K
Total revenueLn 12$26K

Statement of Functional Expenses

Part IX · allocated across program, management, and fundraising
Allocation · columns B–D
Grants & contributions paid $0.41 Operating & administrative $0.59
Grants & contributions paid41%$321K
Operating & administrative59%$462K
Total functional expensesLn 25$783K

Balance Sheet

Part X · end of year
CashLn 1
Total assetsLn 16
Total liabilitiesLn 26$0
Total net assetsLn 32$0

Financial Metrics

Form 990 · FY2025 · each ratio shown with the dollars behind it
Liquidity & Payout
Payout rate
Grants paid $0 · Total assets —
Foundation payout rate (grants ÷ total assets); 5% minimum-distribution rule
Where the money comes from
Contribution dependence
Contributions & grants — · Total revenue $26K
Government reliance
not reported
Earned-income share
not reported
Investment reliance
Investment income $0 · Total revenue $26K
0%
Program self-sufficiency
not reported
Growth & trend
Revenue growth (YoY)
This year $26K · Prior year $67K
-61%
Revenue CAGR
FY2020 $332K · FY2025 $26K
-40%
Net-asset trend (YoY)
End of year $0 · Beginning of year —
Beginning net assets not meaningfully positive — showing dollar change
Balance sheet
Surplus Margin
Revenue $26K · Expenses $783K
-2882%
Liabilities-to-Assets
Total liabilities — · Total assets —
Net-asset ratio
Net assets $0 · Total assets —
People & payroll
Highest Reported Total Compensation
Individual Erin M Cinelli · Reported title Associate Director and Secretary · Highest reported compensation $100K · Total expenses $783K
13%
Personnel share
not reported
Peer comparison

Same NTEE category, revenue band, and state where available. Descriptive — not a grade.

MetricThis orgPeer medianPercentile
Revenue growth -61%

Straight from the Form 990 — descriptive, not an evaluation. A ratio is hidden when its base is zero or too small to be meaningful; the dollars are always shown.

Compare

Search another nonprofit to view revenue, expenses, assets, key metrics, and leaders side by side

Filings & Schedule Manifest

Part IV
III · Programs I · Grants R · Related orgs G · Fundraising L · Interested persons A · Public support F · Foreign M · Noncash
FY2025 (Latest)$26K revenue · viewing · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2024$67K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2023$144K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2022$65K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2021$380K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF
FY2020$332K revenue · ⤓ 990 PDF

Want to add your own materials alongside these filings? Claim this org

Sources

Every figure above is drawn from these filings
Form 990 e-file (XML) · FY2025IRS
Classification, formation year, addressIRS Business Master File
Names, privacy, and removal requests More

The names, titles, and compensation shown on this page are reproduced from IRS Form 990 filings, which are public records.

Philanthropy.org does not alter the content of those filings. All information appears exactly as reported by the filing organization for the tax year shown.

We publish only information contained in the public IRS filing — and less than the filing contains. Our profile pages do not display street addresses, telephone numbers, personal email addresses, or other personal contact information, even where the filing includes them.

Many people share the same name. A name shown on this page reflects only what one organization reported in one IRS filing for one tax year. It should not be interpreted as identifying any other individual with the same or a similar name.

If you are no longer affiliated with the organization, your name will generally stop appearing in future IRS filings once the organization no longer reports you. Pages for tax years in which you were reported remain published because those filings remain part of the public record.

Philanthropy.org does not alter or remove IRS filing records. Removing a page from this website would not remove the underlying IRS filing, which remains publicly available from the IRS and other publishers of the same information.

If you believe the IRS filing itself is inaccurate, corrections must be made by the filing organization or the IRS directly.

If you ARE the filing organization, claim this org and add context

Made it to the end? Claim this organization

All figures are derived from public IRS Form 990 filings and are presented without evaluation of any organization. philanthropy.org does not rate, score, or rank organizations, including the peer-cohort and compensation comparisons above.